Nice Guy Beats The Ref & The TV & Wins Forever

Brian Davis felt his moment had finally arrived when he made a 17 foot putt birdie on the 18th green to tie with America’s Jim Furyk and force a play-off at The Heritage Classic in Southern Carolina. Davis, a 36 year old Londoner, had never won a tournament on the American PGA golf tour.

He had come runner up four times, and after years of dedication his moment seemed to arrive. The dream was crystal clear as he stepped up to play the18th hole again in a ‘Sudden Death’ play-off against the 49 times PGA tournament winner and Ryder Cup golfer, Furyk.

With the light fading over the beautiful harbour and the greens, both players safely reached the fairway from their tee shots. Davis’s second shot ran across the green, over the edge, bounced off some rocks below and finally settled on nicely packed sand with some reeds behind it. However, he successfully chipped up onto the green with his third shot. Now here’s the magic.

No one saw this happen except Davis. As he played his third shot he thought he might have barely touched ‘a loose impediment’ (a loose reed/bit of straw) which is a penalty. “It was one of those things I thought I saw movement out of the corner of my eye. And I thought we’d check on TV, and indeed there was movement,” Davis said.

He immediately called for the tournament referee, Slugger White, and told him what had happened. It was so subtle that the crowd didn’t see it and the TV cameras didn’t see it.

He felt honour-bound to tell the referee, who checked with the TV slow motion replays and duly imposed a two shot penalty for ‘making contact with a loose impediment in a greenside hazard’ (rule 13.4: moving a loose impediment during a takeaway). Davis’s dream was over.

However, his actions on the 18th hole at Harbour Town Golf Links course, will be remembered by many for a long time to come. You can see this magical sportsmanship moment. Slugger White later said: “He’s class, first class”. Brian Davis has since received floods of congratulation cards, letters, emails from people all over America and in particular from parents who said they told their children this is how you play sport and this is how you live life.

Davis proves that nice guys are winners. In his own words, here’s how good it actually felt after the high tension game was over. “It’s probably the first time in my career, or in any golfer’s, where [you] lost in a play-off and actually drove home more positive than when you left,” he said. “It has been a good experience for me, and it has been great for the game of golf that we do call rules infractions on ourselves. It’s just part of the game.”

Note: Thanks to Ollie Campbell for alerting me about this story.

Dr. Sharon Kay Stoll on why golfers call their own penalties

, , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to Nice Guy Beats The Ref & The TV & Wins Forever

  1. martin mills May 18, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    Clause 13-4 clearly states that to touch or move a loose impediment lying in or touching the hazard is a prohibited action. Loose impediments includes twigs, branches and the like. It doesn’t seem unreasonable to me to include reeds as ‘and the like’. It does however seem very unreasonable to me that a golfer should be penalised for accidentally touching a small reed that under no stretch of the imangination could have assisted the striking of the ball. Is it not time to introduce some common sense into the rules of golf to allow a more reasonable and pragmatic interpretation of the rules to reflect the actual circumstances of any situation. A degree of judgement for the referee that would take the pressure off individual players to be rightly and impeccably honest and seek not to deprive a dedicated sportsman from a deserved victory. The Royal and Modern – Rules of Golf!

    • prsmith May 18, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

      Thank you Martin for enlightning us all. I am still trying to grasp the logic of it. It does seem somewhat absurd. As a very casual golfer myself, I wonder does this mean that you cannot remove a loose twig if it is between the ball and club (when playing out of a hazard)? One thing is clear, Brian Davis is a truly great sportsman.

  2. Jason Bahamundi September 24, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    Martin –

    I believe the golf rules are the whole point to golf. These athletes call penalties on themselves all the time, and I would be comfortable in saying that there are probably just as many who don’t.

    The point is that golf holds itself up to a higher level and so for anybody to say it is time to change the rules seems somewhat out of bounds to me.

    They have a game with rules that they follow and they should do it their way. This is not unlike MLB discussing video replay and the ‘outcry’ to institute it. It is their game and they will include or exclude video replay as they see fit and we as fans should understand that there are rules and understand that each team or individual plays by the same exact rules.

    I don’t think it is time that we change anything, but allow those that play to determine it since we are fans of the sport and will most likely be regardless of them changing the rules.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Will Ryder Cup Unveil Real Sportsmanship? « Great Moments Of Sportsmanship - September 28, 2010

    […] a reed slightly (thereby incurring a penalty and effectively forfeiting the opportunity to win). Brian Davis is a hero who quietly chose honour and the essence of sportsmanship over big prize […]

Leave a Reply